NOTARY PUBLIC APPLICATION

SHELBY COUNTY, TENNESSEE
Instructions

1. Send $16.00 with this notarized application. Make checks payable to “Shelby County Clerk.” Completed applications can be mailed
to Shelby County Clerk 150 Washington Ave, Room 200, Memphis TN 38103.

2. A notary desiring to make application for reappointment should apply to the County Clerk's Office eight weeks prior to the expiration
of the previous commission. The application process for appointments and re-appointments usually take about eight weeks.

3. Upon notification by the County Clerk's Office that you have been approved as a Notary Public for the State of TN, you must next
secure a $10,000 notary public surety bond payable to the State of TN. The term of the bond shall be four (4) years beginning on the
date of issuance of the commission by the Governor. After securing the bond, you must appear with said bond and a picture ID in
Room W103 of 1075 Mullins Station Road or Room 200 of 150 Washington Avenue. For additional information see reverse side or call
our office (901) 222-3043.

Check One: New Re-Appointment
PLEASE PRINT: Full Name
First Middle Last

Notary Name

Print Name that you will use when notarizing documents (Must match signature below)  Drivers License Number
Residence Address City State Zip
Residence Phone Birth Date Occupation
Name of Employer Business Phone
Business Address City State Zip
If presently commissioned as a Notary Public, give expiration date of most current commission / /

ELIGIBILITY FOR ELECTION

To qualify for a public office a person must be at least eighteen (18) years of age and be in compliance with Tennessee Code Annotated (TCA 8-18-
101). All notaries must be a resident of the county, or have their principal place of business in the county from which they were elected. If an individual
has his principal place of business in any county in the state of Tennessee, he shall be eligible as a notary at large, although he may reside in a state
other than Tennessee (TCA 8-16-101). All nctaries must be a U.S. citizen (Public Chapter No. 834, Acts 2008)
All individuals meeting these qualifications are eligible for election as a notary public at large except the following persons:
(1) Those who have been convicted of offering or giving a bribe, or of larceny, or any other offense declared infamous by law, unless restored to
citizenship in the mode pointed out by law;
(2) Those against whom there is a judgment unpaid for any moneys received by them, in any official capacity, due to the United States, to this
state, or any county of this state;
(3) Those who are defaulters to the treasury at the time of election, and the election of any such person shall be void;
(4) Soldiers, sailors, marines, or airmen in the regular army or navy or air force of the United States; and
(5) Members of congress, and persons holding any office of profit or trust under any foreign power, other state of the union, or under the United
States (TCA 8-18-101);
(6) Those who have been removed from the Office of Notary Public for official misconduct;
(7) Those who have had a notary commission revoked by this or any other State;
(8) Those who have been found by a court to have engaged in the unauthorized practice of law.

| certify that this application has been completed and examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief is a true and complete application
made in good faith pursuant to the provisions of Chapters 16 and 18, Title 8, of the Tennessee Code Annotated, dealing with Notaries Public.

Applicant’s Signature (Must match “Notary Name"” above) Date

Sworn and subscribed before me this day of 20

My Commission Expires Signature of Deputy Clerk or Notary Public & Seal



Information for Notary Public Applicants

A Notary Public is a public official who has the power to acknowledge signatures, administer oaths and take
depositions, affidavits and acknowledgements.

Qualifications. A notary must be at least 18 years of age and a U.S. citizen or a legal permanent resident at
the time of election. A notary must be a resident of or maintain a principal place of business in the county
from which he or she is elected.

Application. Applications for election as a notary, together with the application fee of $16.00 are submitted
to the Shelby County Clerk. After the Board of Commissioners has met and approved your application, the
County Clerk certifies the notary’s election to the Secretary of State. When the commission is issued by the
Governor, it is returned to the County Clerk’s office. The application process usually takes about eight (8)
weeks.

Bond. Upon notification by the County Clerk’s office that you have been approved as a Notary Public for the
State of Tennessee, you must next secure a $10,000.00 notary public surety bond. The bond is payable to
the State of Tennessee and conditional upon the faithful performance of the duties of a notary public.

Oath. Once the bond is secured, you must bring it and a picture ID to Room W103 of 1075 Mullins Station
Road or Room 200 of 150 Washington Avenue and subscribe to an oath to support the constitutions of the
State of Tennessee and the United States. The oath also states that the notary will, without favor or partiality,
honestly, faithfully, and diligently discharge the duties of notary public.

Official Seal. State law requires that all notaries use an official seal prescribed and designed by the Secretary
of State. The notary must purchase the official seal at his or her own expense. The current design prescribed
by the Secretary of State is a circular seal with the notary’s name (as it appears on the commission) printed
at the top, the county of election printed at the bottom, and the words “State of Tennessee Notary Public”
or “Tennessee Notary Public” printed in the center. Notaries must use a rubber or other type stamp (not an
impression seal), and the stamp must be imprinted in some color, other than black or yellow, that is clearly
legible and appears black when copied on a non-color copier.

Re-appointment. The Notary’s term of office is four (4) years, such term to begin on the date of issuance by
the Governor. Renewal is by the same method as the original procedure.

Change of Address. If a notary moves his or her residence or principal place of business out of the county
from which he or she was elected to another county in Tennessee, the notary remains qualified to act as a
notary in Tennessee; however, the notary must notify the County Clerk in the county from which the notary
was elected and submit a $7.00 fee.

Name Change. A notary must come in person into the County Clerk’s Office if a name change occurs due to
a marriage or divorce. The notary must bring a rider from their insurance company with name change, two
(2) certified copies of marriage certificate or divorce decree, the original notary certificate and sign the notary
expiration register. A fee of $7.00 is due payable to the Shelby County Clerk.

For additional Notary information, please contact our Notary Division at (901) 222-3043.



