Chancery Court

Shelby County Courthouse for Chancery Web.jpg

Update for Shelby County Civil Courts:

 

Shelby County Civil Court Plan: Judge Gomes Civil Courts 

Chancery Court Specific Plan: Chancery Plan



Notice: 

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Shelby County Chancery Court will close at 1:00 p.m. daily beginning April 15th. Chancery Court staff will still be available to assist with your filing needs by phone or email Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. Attorneys who have e-file accounts are strongly encouraged to e-file. The e-file site can be accessed at https://efile.shelbycountytn.gov. For those who need to leave pleadings for filing, signatures, etc., please feel free to leave such documents in the Dropbox directly across from the Filing Dept. If you feel that a video hearing with the Chancellor is in order, please contact the appropriate Courtroom Clerk. The staff directory is listed below.

                                                                         W. Aaron Hall 

                                                                         Clerk and Master 

 

Chancery Court Staff Directory

Part I – Chancellor Walter Evans  
Kathy Stojanovic 222-3918 kathy.stojanovic@shelbycountytn.gov
Brandon Whiteley 222-3937 brandon.whiteley@shelbycountytn.gov
Part II- Chancellor Jim Kyle  
Dorothy Duckett 222-3940 dorothy.duckett@shelbycountytn.gov
Tracy Askew 222-3936 tracy.askew@shelbycountytn.gov
Part III- Chancellor JoeDae Jenkins  
JT Hall 222-3941 jt.hall@shelbycountytn.gov
Lucas Cameron-Vaughn 222-3939 lucas.cameron-vaughn@shelbycountytn.gov
Judicial Assistant for the Chancellors  
Tracy Askew 222-3936 tracy.askew@shelbycountytn.gov
Filing Department-New Lawsuits, Adoptions, Copies
Sam Ginsberg 222-3931 sam.ginsberg@shelbycountytn.gov
Alex Graham 222-3932 alex.graham@shelbycountytn.gov
Barbara Reynolds 222-3922 barbara.reynolds@shelbycountytn.gov
Sheri Carter 222-3901 sheri.carter@shelbycountytn.gov
Ebony Wells 222-3925 ebony.wells@shelbycountytn.gov
Kellye Wade 222-3902 kellye.wade@shelbycountytn.gov
Accounting Department-Garnishments, Cost Bills
Vanessa Herring 222-3914 vanessa.herring@shelbycountytn.gov
Catherine Dear 222-3942 catherine.dear@shelbycountytn.gov
Carlton Brown 222-3919 carlton.brown@shelbycountytn.gov
Will Ferguson 222-3934 william.ferguson@shelbycountytn.gov
Tax Sales-Tax Sales Related Issues
Dylan Holzemer 222-3915 dylan.holzemer@shelbycountytn.gov
Will Ferguson 222-3934 william.ferguson@shelbycountytn.gov
Administration    
Karen Brasfield 222-3935 karen.brasfield@shelbycountytn.gov


Also see:



    Tennessee Supreme Court Issues Order 

Keeping Courts Open,

Limiting In-Person Court Proceedings Until April 30
***Updated***


There are a few exceptions, see the following documents:

3-13-20 Tennessee Supreme Court Order Suspending In-Person Court Proceedings 

3-25-20 Order Continuing Suspension of In-Court Proceedings and Extension of Deadlines

For more information:


 

*** Amended Policy Regarding Trial Exhibits ***

 

 

At the conclusion of all cases, any exhibits marked at trial shall be accounted for and assembled by the parties or their counsel, presented to the Clerk and Master’s Office, and scanned into the Clerk and Master’s electronic case management system.

All original trial exhibits, including any non-paper exhibits and exhibits larger than 8-1/2 x 11 inches, shall be retained by the counsel for the party who introduced the exhibit. 

In the event the case is appealed, counsel shall be responsible for producing all of the original exhibits and delivering the original exhibits to the Clerk and Master for the appellate record. 

As needed, counsel shall reduce any exhibit larger than 8-1/2 x 11 inches to a size which the Clerk of the Appellate Court will receive. 

These procedures further apply to depositions which are not marked as exhibits but only made a part of the technical record.



Notice:
For the convenience of attorneys,
Part II of Chancery Court has expanded its Rule 10 Friday Motion Docket
to include all business days of the week (Mon-Fri).
Please contact Ms. Duckett at (901) 222-3940 or dorothy.duckett@shelbycountytn.gov to set or reschedule your motion


----------------------------------------------------------------------

Go To Chancery Court's next tax sale:
Online Tax Sales
Go to: WWW.CIVICSOURCE.COM

----------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Declaratory judgments
  • Delinquent tax sales
  • Divorces
  • Enforcement of arbitration awards
  • Habeas corpus
  • Mandamus
  • Public nuisances
  • Removal of public officers
  • Replevins
  • Usury
  • Worker’s compensation
Note: Chancery court does not have jurisdiction to hear actions for injuries to person or character and injuries to property not resulting from a breach of contract.