Chancery Court

Shelby County Courthouse for Chancery Web.jpg

**CHANCERY COURT LATEST UPDATE**
Part II of Chancery Court will hear all matters in person beginning Tuesday, July 5, 2022, unless the Court grants an exception.
 
Part I and Part III of the Chancery Court will continue to operate with some in-person hearings and some hearings by video conference (Zoom), which will be scheduled by the Court on a case-by-case basis.
 
Please contact the Courtroom Clerk for specific questions regarding your hearing. 


Chancery Court has new guidelines for attending Zoom hearings.  Please click here to read the new guidelines.

Update for Shelby County Civil Courts:

 

Shelby County Civil Court Plan: Judge Gomes Civil Courts 

Chancery Court Specific Plan: Chancery Plan

 


On May 14, 2021, the Tennessee Supreme Court issued Order Modifying Capacity, Distancing and Facial Covering Requirements which: (1) reduced the required distance between persons in the courtroom from six feet to three feet; (2) removed courtroom capacity limits; and (3) lifted the facial covering requirement. Although the use of facial coverings will no longer be required, continued use of facial coverings in compliance with current CDC guidelines is strongly encouraged. 




Chancery Court Policy for Service by Publication:

Click Here

 

Notice:
 
Chancery Court has reopened its Rule 10 Motion Docket and the Uncontested Divorce Hearing Docket, both with a limited number available.  

You may request a date by going to the following sites:



Notice:

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, attorneys who have e-file accounts are strongly encouraged to e-file. The e-file site can be accessed at https://efile.shelbycountytn.gov. For those who need to leave pleadings for filing, signatures, etc., please feel free to leave such documents in the Dropbox directly across from the Filing Dept. If you feel that a video hearing with the Chancellor is in order, please contact the appropriate Courtroom Clerk. The staff directory is listed below.

                                                                         W. Aaron Hall 

                                                                         Clerk and Master 

 

Chancery Court Staff Directory

Part I - Chancellor Gadson W. Perry
Kathy Stojanovic 222-3918 kathy.stojanovic@shelbycountytn.gov
Dominique DeFreece 222-3937 dominique.defreece@shelbycountytn.gov
Part II - Chancellor Jim Kyle
Nasha Brown 222-3936 nasha.brown@shelbycountytn.gov
Aaron Eason 222-3938 aaron.eason@shelbycountytn.gov
Part III - Chancellor JoeDae Jenkins
JT Hall 222-3941 jt.hall@shelbycountytn.gov
David Morelli
222-3939  david.morelli@shelbycountytn.gov
Special Assistant/Judicial Clerk Supervisor
Lucas Cameron-Vaughn 222-3916 lucas.cameron-vaughn@shelbycountytn.gov
Judicial Assistant to the Chancellors
Dorothy Duckett 222-3940 dorothy.duckett@shelbycountytn.gov
Operations Department: New Lawsuits, Adoptions, Copies
Tracy Askew 222-3901 tracy.askew@shelbycountytn.gov
Maria Cano 222-3914 maria.cano@shelbycountytn.gov
Sam Ginsberg 222-3931 sam.ginsberg@shelbycountytn.gov
Cayla Hughes 222-3904 cayla.hughes@shelbycountytn.gov
Kat Minton 222-3911 kat.minton@shelbycountytn.gov
Barbara Reynolds 222-3922 barbara.reynolds@shelbycountytn.gov
Ebony Wells 222-3902 ebony.wells@shelbycountytn.gov
Finance Department: Garnishments, Court Costs, Minor Settlement
Carlton Brown 222-3919 carlton.brown@shelbycountytn.gov
Catherine Dear 222-3942 catherine.dear@shelbycountytn.gov
Alex Graham 222-3925 alex.graham@shelbycountytn.gov
Tax Sales Department: Tax Sales, Excess Proceeds
Dylan Holzemer
222-3915 dylan.holzemer@shelbycountytn.gov
Leslie Blessike 222-3934 leslie.blessike@shelbycountytn.gov
Administration
Gena Boone 222-3912 gena.boone@shelbycountytn.gov
Karen Brasfield
222-3935
karen.brasfield@shelbycountytn.gov


Also see:



*** Amended Policy Regarding Trial Exhibits ***    

At the conclusion of all cases, any exhibits marked at trial shall be accounted for and assembled by the parties or their counsel, presented to the Clerk and Master’s Office, and scanned into the Clerk and Master’s electronic case management system.

All original trial exhibits, including any non-paper exhibits and exhibits larger than 8-1/2 x 11 inches, shall be retained by the counsel for the party who introduced the exhibit. 

In the event the case is appealed, counsel shall be responsible for producing all of the original exhibits and delivering the original exhibits to the Clerk and Master for the appellate record. 

As needed, counsel shall reduce any exhibit larger than 8-1/2 x 11 inches to a size which the Clerk of the Appellate Court will receive. 

These procedures further apply to depositions which are not marked as exhibits but only made a part of the technical record.



----------------------------------------------------------------------

Go To Chancery Court's next tax sale:
Online Tax Sales
Go to: WWW.CIVICSOURCE.COM

----------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Declaratory judgments
  • Delinquent tax sales
  • Divorces
  • Enforcement of arbitration awards
  • Habeas corpus
  • Mandamus
  • Public nuisances
  • Removal of public officers
  • Replevins
  • Usury
  • Worker’s compensation
Note: Chancery court does not have jurisdiction to hear actions for injuries to person or character and injuries to property not resulting from a breach of contract.