Historical Commission

Second Thursday of the Month 3:00 pm
Shelby County Archives
Building 980A Nixon Drive
Memphis, TN 38134
January 10, February 14, March 14, April 11, May 9, June 13, July 11

10th Annual Shelby County History Festival - FREE!
Sunday, April 7 2019
12:00 noon - 5:00 p.m.
Hillwood Hall in Davies Manor
3570 Davieshire Drive in Bartlett
(East on I-40 to Exit 20, Canada Road)

Displays from Historical Organizations, Manor House Tours, Carriage Rides, Model T Ride, Living History Performances, Quilt Display, Nature Hike, Scavenger Hunt and Music! All Activities are FREE!



Members of the Historical Commission serve four-year terms and are appointed by the Shelby County mayor and confirmed by the Shelby County Commission. In all, this commission is comprised of 33 members.

Current Members

  • Chairman: Andy Pouncey
  • County Historian: Jimmy Rout III
  • County Genealogist: Kathryn Graehl
  • County Register: Willie F. Brooks, Jr.
Nona Allen
Justin Askew
Valerie Barfield

Dr. Jay Bobo
Mark Buchanan
Phyllis Burns
James Cole
Judy Davis
Dr. E.C. Curt Fields
Cody Fletcher
Lysbeth Francis

Mike Freeman
Nicholas Gotten 
LaSimba Gray, Jr.
Kenyata Hooks

Sylvester Lewis
John McNary
Warren Perry
Andy Pouncey
Kevin Quinn

Audrey Rainey
Mark Stansbury
Graydon Swisher
Randall Thomas
Laura Todd
Yvette Warren

Functions & Authority

The Commission works on behalf of historical awareness, preservation and education. Some of the duties include:

  1. reviewing and approving requests for historical markers
  2. maintaining a reference book on all historical markers in the county
  3. directs media and public attention to historic preservation issues
  4. recognizes with awards area high school and college historical scholars
  5. recognizes area historical authors and literary works
  6. offers guest speakers to community organizations
  7. participates in relevant historical commemorative events
  8. interacts with schools and historic preservation groups in furtherance of these goals.
  9. applies for, manages, and assists with grants from groups and foundations for historic purposes

The new slate of officers of the Historical Commission for the 2018-19 year are:

Chairman - Andy Pouncey
Vice Chairman - Sylvester Lewis
Treasurer - Judy Davis
Secretary - Dr. Nick Gotten

Next Meeting Agenda | View All Agenda's

Previous Meeting Minutes | View All Meeting Minutes

For additional information about the Historical Commission, please contact Jimmy Rout III.