Air Pollution Control Board


  • Meets as needed
  • The Renaissance
    555 Beale St.
    Memphis, TN 38103


Members of the Air Pollution Control Board are jointly appointed by Shelby County and the mayor of Memphis, and jointly confirmed by the Shelby County Commission and Memphis City Council. Members serve four-year terms. This seven-person board must include:

  • One academician
  • One citizen elected by the Memphis Area Associations of Governments
  • One professional engineer
  • One Tennessee environmental lawyer
  • One Tennessee physician
  • Two representatives of industry at large

Current Members

  • Mrs. Doris Boyd
  • Douglas Dugard
  • Dr. David La Velle
  • Gideon Sarpong
  • Randy Womack
  • Dr. L. Yu Lin

The Memphis and Shelby County Air Pollution Control Board was created to grant, deny, or revoke variance applications from air pollution control codes.  For additional information about this board, please contact Kasia Smith-Alexander (email:, Bureau Director, Environmental Health Bureau. Or call 901-222-9193