Click to Home
Home   •   Print   •   Email   •   Contact Us
Go To Search
Click to Home

Online Services
Stay Connected
Historical Commission


Second Thursday of the Month 3:00 pm
Shelby County Archives
Building 980A Nixon Drive
Memphis, TN 38134                                                                    
                                                                      Visit Us on Facebook:
Facebook Icon


Members of the Historical Commission serve four-year terms and are appointed by the Shelby County mayor and confirmed by the Shelby County Commission. In all, this commission is comprised of 33 members.

Current Members

Chairman:  Dr. Curt Fields
County Historian: Jimmy Ogle
County Genealogist: Kathryn Graehl  
County Register: Tom Leatherwood

  Valerie Barfield  Cody Fletcher James Cole         Lysbeth Francis
  Nicholas Gotten             LaSimba Gray, Jr.      Susan Jones              Sylvester Lewis

Judy Davis 

Dr. E.C. Fields, Jr.       Michael Freeman John McNary
  Henry McQuirter             Matthew Meador        Grover Mosley           Kevin Quinn
  Dwight Fryer     Audrey Rainey   Brad Sinclair      Jack Smith
   Phyllis Burns Graydon Swisher, II    Mark Stansbury        June Whitehead
   Jay Bobo Lauren Beaupre Justin Askew  Mark Buchanan
   Daniel Smith      

Functions & Authority

The Commission works on behalf of historical awareness, preservation and education. Some of the duties include:

    1. reviewing and approving requests for historical markers
    2. maintaining a reference book on all historical markers in the county
    3. directs media and public attention to historic preservation issues
    4. recognizes with awards area high school and college historical scholars
    5. recognizes area historical authors and literary works
    6. offers guest speakers to community organizations
    7. participates in relevant historical commemorative events
    8. interacts with schools and historic preservation groups in furtherance of these goals.
    9. applies for, manages, and assists with grants from groups and foundations for historic purposes
Scheduled meetings:
September  10
October       8
November   12
December   10


Shelby County Historical Commission’s 50th Anniversary!



Our annual history awards dinner will have several features including the recognition of the Ed Williams History Teacher of the Year Award, recognition of the winners of the West Tennessee History Day District Contest held at the University of Memphis on February 1, remarks from Shelby County Mayor Mark Luttrell and Celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the Shelby County Historical Commission (1965).

Tickets are $25.00 per person, which includes the buffet dinner and we need your check and reservations by Friday, July 31.  Please make the check payable to Shelby County Historical Commission and mail to:
                                                History Awards Dinner  c/o Jimmy Ogle
                                                4349 Sequoia Road
  Memphis, TN   38117

August Events:

August 5 - 5th Annual Shelby County History Awards Dinner
6:30pm at Hillwood Hall in Davies Manor
Deadline for Tickets ($25 each) is July 31
Contact Jimmy Ogle at 901-604-5002 or

August 11 - Poplar Tunes Historical Marker Dedication

10:00am at 308 Poplar Avenue - FREE

 August 11 - Lauderdale Courts Historical Marker Dedication

 11:00am at 282 North Second Street (Uptown Square) - FREE

 August 16 - Oakville Missionary Baptist Church Historical Marker Dedication11:00am at 3167 Knight Road (Oakville MB Church)

 The new slate of officers of the Historical Commission for the 2014-15 year are:

 Chairman - Dr. Curt Fields
 Vice Chairman - Laura Todd
 Treasurer - John McNary
 Secretary - Dr. Nick Gotten

 Shelby County Historical Commission Meeting -
 Thursday, September 10, 2015 3:00 p.m. 
 Shelby County Archives Office     
 980A Nixon Drive 


Meeting Minutes  from the June 26 meeting

  For additional information about the Historical Commission, please contact Jimmy Ogle

Facebook Icon 

Vasco A. Smith, Jr. County Administration Building • (901) 222-2300
160 North Main Street Memphis TN 38103
SitemapAccessibilityPrivacy StatementCopyright NoticesPowered by CivicPlus