Click to Home
Home   •   Print   •   Email   •   Contact Us
Go To Search
Click to Home

Online Services
Stay Connected
James F. Russell--Division Two
Judge Russell    Judge Russell was appointed Judge, Division Two, in 1998 and elected in 2006.

  • B.A., Rhodes College, 1967
  • University of Memphis, Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law, 1970

Committees and Commissions:
  • State of Tennessee Judicial Ethics Committee
  • State of Tennessee Alternative Dispute Resolution Commission

Current Professional Affiliations:
  • Tennessee Judicial Conference (Chair, ADR Committee)
  • Leo Bearman, Sr. American Inn of Court (Program Chair)

Past Professional Affiliations:
  • American Bar Association, Tennessee Bar Association, Memphis Bar Association (President 1992), Young Lawyers of Memphis (President 1976), Tennessee Defense Lawyers Association, Atlanta Claims Association, National Association of Railroad Trial Counsel
  • International Association of Defense Counsel 

Career Experience:  
  • Apperson, Crump, Duzane & Maxwell (Partner 1985-1997)
  • Price, Vance & Criss; Russell & Warlick; Russell, Price, Weatherford, Warlick, Vance & Criss, P.C. (1978-1985)
  • Stanton, Russell & Challen (Partner 1974-1978) Nelson, Norvell, Wilson, McRea, Ivy & Sevier (Associated 1971-1974) Burch, Porter & Johnson (Law Clerk, 1968-1970)
  • General Sessions Court Clerk’s Office (Deputy Clerk, Summer 1968)
  •  Judge Russell is also a trained mediator and was affiliated with Resolute Systems, Inc. before appointment to the Bench.

  • Received Memphis Bar Association’s Charles A. Rond Outstanding Judge of the Year Award in 2000

  • Married - Linda Hatcher Russell
  • Children - Mary Helen, Myles Edward and Maggie Abele
  • Attends St. John’s Episcopal Church
Church Affiliation:
  • St.John’s Episcopal Church
          (Vestry member and Past Junior and Senior Warden)
  • The Diocese of West Tennessee
         Standing Committee on Constitution and Canons (Chair)
         Deputy to The General Convention of The Episcopal Church

Back to Circuit Home

Vasco A. Smith, Jr. County Administration Building • (901) 222-2300
160 North Main Street Memphis TN 38103
SitemapAccessibilityPrivacy StatementCopyright NoticesPowered by CivicPlus