Shelby County Circuit Court

Courthouse image(3).JPG
Circuit Court Header.jpg

Due to up-coming changes in the Federal tax law that impacts year-end tax issues, the Circuit Court calendar will be open for uncontested divorce hearings on December 19, 2018.
If you have trouble setting your hearing, please contact the courtroom clerk assigned to your division.

The Shelby County Commissioners have passed a Resolution increasing the Library fees $3.00.  Therefore all filing fees for all Lawsuits and Divorces will increase by $3.00

Organization and Responsibilities:
Circuit Court is a court of general jurisdiction consisting of nine judges presiding over nine divisions. The court hears a variety of civil cases, including:
  • Appeals from lower courts
  • Auto accident
  • Breach of Contract
  • Condemnation
  • Divorce
  • Medical malpractice
  • Minor settlement
  • Name Change
  • Personal injury
  • Worker's compensation
  • Wrongful death
Approximately 5,000 cases are filed in Circuit Court annually.

Circuit Court Clerk's Facebook Page