Public Records Commission


  • Meets as needed
  • Archives Office
    980A Nixon
    Memphis, TN 38134


Members of the Public Records Commission serve variable terms depending on individual elections. This board consists of seven members:
  • Three appointed members: Appointed by the Shelby County mayor and confirmed by the Shelby County Commission
    • One county commissioner
    • One judge
    • One genealogist
  • Four ex-officio members
    • County archivist
    • County clerk
    • County historian
    • County register


There are currently no vacancies on this Commission.

Members are:

Vincent Clerk - Archivist
Elizabeth Hughes - Genealogist
Wayne Mashburn - County Clerk

Judge Gina Higgins, Circuit Court
Tom Leatherwood - County Register
Commissioner Chris Thomas

Functions & Authority

The function of the Public Records Commission is to provide for the orderly disposition of public records. For additional information about this board, please contact Shelby County Archivist Vincent Clark at (901) 222-8181.